The revocation of your Minnesota driving license can have devastating impacts on your life, especially if you rely on your car for work, education, or essential family purposes. With that in mind, it’s a good idea to be aware of what kind of offenses can result in one of these punishments.
There are a range of offenses that can lead to the temporary or permanent removal of your license, including driving while intoxicated (DWI). The duration of a license revocation depends on the severity of a given offense and the history of the driver.
The Different Categories of Driving License Revocation in Minnesota
Minnesota law specifies a number of situations in which driving license suspensions may occur and the conditions that apply in each scenario.
For a first-time DWI offense with no aggravating factors, you will likely face a 90-day driving license revocation. However, you may be able to reduce this to 30 days if you plead guilty to your charge.
First-time offenses with one or more aggravating factors, such as a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.16% or higher, attract revocation periods of up to a year. The same rule applies to second offenses without aggravating factors. For a repeat offense with an aggravating factor, the court may revoke your license for up to two years.
More serious offenses can result in three-, four-, and six-year driving-license suspensions. You may also face an indefinite license cancellation if the authorities determine your presence on the roads amounts to an ongoing threat to others.
Your license will likely be subject to immediate revocation following an alcohol test indicating a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more, pending the outcome of the case. Refusal to take a test is likely to have the same result.
Reinstatement of Your License Following Revocation
You should note that you do not become entitled to the reinstatement of your license immediately when your revocation period elapses. Instead, you must submit an application to the Department of Public Safety, including an application fee and a reinstatement fee. Depending on your case, you may also have to pass an exam on the rules around inebriated driving, complete classes on alcohol education, or pass a driving skills test.
What Is a Limited Driving License?
If you need to drive to attend work or for another essential purpose, you may be able to apply for a limited driving license following a suspension or cancellation. Also known as a work permit, a limited license will allow you to use your vehicle for certain specific purposes, such as traveling to your place of work or study, or to a facility administering necessary healthcare.
You should note that this is not an option for every type of license revocation. In the case of DWI offenses, it is generally only available to you if you had a BAC under 0.16% at the time of your arrest and did not have prior DWI convictions. Additionally, you must be able to show you have no viable alternative means of getting where you need to go, such as public transport.
You may also have to use an ignition interlock device (IID) during your revocation period in some cases. These machines require you to complete a breath test before starting your vehicle, preventing you from driving if you test positive for alcohol.
How a Minnesota DWI Attorney Can Help You To Get Back on the Road
The revocation of your driving license in Minnesota can be a daunting prospect, particularly if you’re reliant on your car to get from place to place. However, the good news is that there are steps you can take to get back on the road if this fate does befall you.
Contact us today to discuss the best course of action for you following a Minnesota driving license revocation, or another DWI-related issue. We’ll provide a free initial review of your case.