A work permit in Minnesota, also referred to as a limited license, is a driver’s license with conditions for those individuals whose licenses have been suspended or revoked due to a DWI or DUI conviction or implied consent violation.
Eligibility for a limited license depends on several factors, such as your blood alcohol concentration and number of previous offenses. Only a driver who is presently employed or a full-time homemaker may qualify for a limited license.
To apply for a limited driver’s license, you will need to pass a written test comprised of questions on drinking and driving issues. If you wish to study for the test, review chapters 7 and 8 in the Driver’s Safety Manual. You do not need to wait until your license has been revoked in order to take this test.
Afterwards, you must pay a reinstatement fee of $680. You will then need to fill out a license reinstatement application, and pay a new license fee of $32.00. Under the state’s DWI laws, the application for a limited license must be able to show that you are unable to rideshare or take a bus to and from your workplace.
After your waiting period has passed and you have passed both your written and driving test, you may apply for your limited license by meeting with an evaluator or administrator from the Department of Public Safety for approval of your limited license. Make sure to bring your test score sheet with you.
Whether or not you will qualify for a limited license or work permit is also dependent on your current driving record. For example, if this is your first offense and your BAC is under .16, then the waiting period or blackout period before you can apply for a limited license is 15 days after the expiration of your temporary license, or 22 days from the date of your DUI arrest. For a second-time or subsequent violator, with the prior being within 10 years of the current offense, who complied with the alcohol concentration (AC) test and the BAC reading was below a .16, you will not qualify for a work permit. The only option for drive during your revocation period would be through Minnesota’s Interlock program.
Take note that you must file an application for a new license and turn in any existing license certificates to your local Driver’s License Testing Bureau. If you are considered eligible, your work permit will be issued to you.
Work permits have specific limitations, such as when you are permitted to drive, how many hours a day you are permitted to drive, and for what reasons you are allowed to get behind the wheel. In most instances, you will only be allowed to drive to and from work, to chemical dependency treatments, to college or postsecondary institution, or to provide for the medical, nutritional, or educational needs of your family. In certain cases, additional conditions may be allowed depending on your situation. Generally, however, a maximum of 60 hours of driving time a week can be authorized.
Work permit applicants are served on a first-come, first-serve basis.
Source: DUI/DWI Information for Minnesota, published on https://www.dmv.com/mn/minnesota/dui-dwi.