If your license was revoked in Minnesota or you are afraid it might be, the next logical question involves how you will be able to get around and continue your life as normally as possible. The following post will explain how you might qualify for a limited license, which would allow you to continue driving under limited circumstances.
Who qualifies for a limited license?
If you were arrested/revoked or convicted of driving while impaired (DWI) in Minnesota, you will be forced to wait 15 days before applying for a work permit, or hardship/limited license. Those drivers found to have a blood alcohol concentration less than twice the state’s legal limit (meaning you must have had a BAC less than 0.16 percent) will qualify for a limited license and are not subject to Minnesota’s Interlock Program.
What conditions must be met to receive a limited license?
Hardship licenses are called hardship licenses for a reason. The state will not issue a limited license to a driver simply because he or she does not want to be inconvenienced. Instead, the licenses are only given to those who truly need them. According to Minnesota Statutes Section 171.30, only the following categories of drivers deserve a limited license.
First, those who need the license to get to drug or alcohol treatment programs. If you need to drive to ensure you fulfill your obligations to a 12-step or other rehab program then you may qualify for a hardship license. Those who need to drive to get to and from their jobs can qualify for a hardship license; same with those drivers who are pursuing a post-secondary education. If you’re in a degree program you can qualify for a limited license to continue attending classes. Finally, the state created an exception for stay-at-home parents who need to take kids to school, run to the grocery store and other chores that are required to ensure your family does not suffer.
What happens if you do qualify?
If the state believes you fit into these categories then you can receive a limited license. This limited license may contain clear limitations on the operation of the vehicle. For example, the license may specify the times that drivers are allowed to be behind the wheel, the reasons allowed for diving and even the particular traffic conditions that must exist before the person can drive.
What happens if you don’t qualify?
Sadly, there are plenty of drivers in Minnesota who, for whatever reason, simply do not meet the qualifications for a limited license. These people are often forced to rely on friends, family members, taxis, carpools or public transit to get around. Though it is far from ideal, the hope is that you can cobble together other workable options that get you through the period of your license suspension.
When is it time to make that call to a Minnesota DUI Laywer?
If your driver’s license has been revoked as a result of a DWI, contact a DUI attorney in Minnesota immediately. The criminal defense team at Kans Law Firm has litigated numerous issues relating to license revocations as a result of a drunk driving charge. It is important to remember that there is only a limited amount of time in which you can judicially challenge your license revocation. In some instances, your driving privileges can even be temporarily reinstated pending the outcome of the challenge.